WVU Season Football Awards Announced
Chris Neild
Chris Neild

Posted Dec 21, 2010

West Virginia wide receiver Jock Sanders was named the team’s offensive Most Valuable Player, and Chris Neild and Brandon Hogan were named co-defensive Most Valuable Players of the 2010 West Virginia University football team.

Jock Sanders, also named one of the team’s permanent captains, set the school record for career receptions with 201 catches and also finished with 1,922 yards and 14 touchdowns during his outstanding four-year career. In 2010, he led the Mountaineers with 64 catches for 670 yards and four touchdowns. He currently is on a steak of 40 games with a reception, tying the WVU record and tied for second on the Big East list.

Chris Neild, also named one of the team’s permanent captains, was named a co-recipient with offensive lineman Joey Madsen, of the John Russell Award, signifying the top lineman on the team. He finished his career with 126 total tackles, including 51 unassisted tackles, six sacks, 11 tackles for loss, two pass breakups and an interception. In 2010, he finished with 31 tackles, including 13 solo stops, three sacks and four tackles for loss.

Brandon Hogan finished his career with 171 total tackles, including 110 solo stops, 24 pass breakups, seven interceptions, four fumble recoveries and a forced fumble. In 2010, he registered 37 total tackles, including 25 unassisted tackles, three interceptions, six pass breakups, a forced fumble and a fumble recovery.

The Scott Shirley Award for special teams excellence went to Gregg Pugnetti. He punted 63 times for 2,630 yards, an average of 41.7 yards per kick, with a long of 71 yards. He registered eight punts of 50 yards or more, placed 21 punts inside the opponent’s 20-yard line, had 21 punts that resulted in a fair catch and six kicks that found the end zone for a touchback.

Other award winners for the Mountaineers included:

IRA ERRETT RODGERS AWARD (Presented to the Mountaineer player who has shown high leadership and academic qualities as well as football performance): Eric Jobe

GRIDIRON GLADIATOR: Tavon Austin, Scooter Berry, Pat Lazear, Anthony Leonard, Robert Sands, Geno Smith and J.T. Thomas

IDEAL MOUNTAINEER MAN: Don Barclay, Will Johnson, Julian Miller, Keith Tandy and Tyler Urban

JOHN RUSSELL AWARD (Top lineman): Chris Neild, Joey Madsen

WHITEY GWYNNE AWARD (Presented to the player whose attitude, effort and spirit provide an outstanding unsung contribution to the success of the team): Sidney Glover and Jeremy Kash



SCOUT TEAMS PLAYER OF THE YEAR (defense): Taige Redman

PERMANENT CAPTAINS AWARD: Noel Devine, Chris Neild, Jock Sanders and J.T. Thomas.

West Virginia finished with a 9-3 record and tied for the BIG EAST Championship. The Mountaineers will play North Carolina State (8-4) in the Champs Sports Bowl on Tuesday, Dec. 28, at The Florida Citrus Bowl Stadium in Orlando, Fla., at 6:30 p.m.

Related Stories
Distractions? What Distractions?
 -by BlueGoldNews.com  Dec 21, 2010
Human Toll
 -by BlueGoldNews.com  Dec 21, 2010
Holgorsen Introduced
 -by BlueGoldNews.com  Dec 22, 2010

Get the 2014 Scout.com Recruiting Yearbook with an annual Total Access Pass
Sign Up Today!

Upgrade Now!
Free Email Newsletter
Don't miss any news or features from BlueGoldNews.com. Subscribe to our newsletter to have our newest articles emailed to you on a daily or weekly basis.
Click here for a list of all Team Newsletters.

Add Topics to My HotList
Get free email alerts with news about your favorite topics. Click link to add to My HotList.
Football > West Virginia
[View My HotList]